I literally have three drafts saved for blog posts. For some reason, the second I’ve finished one, something else with these furry butts happens. I’ve opted to try and round it alllll up into one big post.

Rizzo has been staying with us for the past two weeks while my brother is in lovely London for a wedding. Rizzo and I have had a weird relationship…..mostly because you can never really know if she’s going to lick your face, or bite it off. She’s just not a cuddly dog, which is perfectly fine. We all know what to do with those dogs- you give them their space and in time, they will approach you if they want to. Well, until they have no choice. I have a theory that Rizzo thinks her owners gave her up (she’s never been this long without them), and has come to the conclusion that she must open herself up to these two new people and that annoying little black dog that follows her around at the cottage. I was SHOCKED when Rizzo crept right up to me and cuddled in for some lovin’. Turns out, she’s a huuuugggeee suck. All she wants to be around humans, which we figured out VERY quickly based on how closely she stands near her ‘people’. I was fully anticipating Rizzo to pee everywhere, chew things up and be a pain in my you know what. But she was the complete opposite. She was this sweet, well mannered dog who never left the bed during the night. We even let her have ‘full rein’ of the house during the night, and woke up to everything being exactly how we left them. The only downside to Rizzo living with us is the incredible amounts of dog hair she loses on a daily basis. At times I felt like I was living in this weird, dog inspired Western, with tumble weeds consisting of purely dog hair go rolling on by. I’m feeling the need to go and purchase some cowboy boots…….hmmm…..

The dogs get along REALLY well, and Rizzo has ignited some sort of fire inside of Bailey. They.Are.Wired.Every.Moment.Of.The.Day. Thank GOODNESS we now have a backyard where they can have the zoomies till the cows come home. And then, they can run around the cows.

Last night, Scott went to change our cat litter. To all the cat owners out there, I’m curious as to whether your pet does this. When we go to change the cat litter, they both suddenly realize that, not only do they have to pee, but they have to pee RIGHT NOW. So while I’m running to the garage to dispose of the heavy, pooped filled bag, my cats are in the cat box, sans litter, peeing. So yesterday, when Scott went to throw out the litter, we weren’t surprised to see pee in the box. Unfortunately, unlike other times, the pee found was red. That’s right. It was FULL of blood.

I spent the better part of the next few minutes running around whipping my cats butts hoping to figure out which one it was. After a much closer than I care to admit inspection, I found out it was Zoe. We had cleaned up the pee before thinking about bringing it in as a sample, which meant I had to somehow get my hands on another one.

We all know we’re willing to go to any extreme to help out pet. If I have to move the cat litter into my room, beside my bed with a cup at the ready to catch my cat’s pee, then that’s what I will do. Of course, I woke up at the slightest sound that could be interpreted at cat litter being brushed aside. Turns out, Rascal thinks it’s HILARIOUS to go into the cat litter and roll around. In his own poop. Which, by the way, is disgusting. But I can’t focus on his weird, middle of the night habits now! In the end, Zoe didn’t pee at all during the night. When she finally got into the cat box, nothing came out. I slept beside the box (YES, I know how gross this is) hoping I’d catch her peeing, but she wasn’t able to with any success.

We’ve got a vet appointment to get this sorted out. I’m fairly confident it’s a Urinary Tract Infection. But hey, an infection is an infection and should be taken seriously. But you know what shouldn’t be taken seriously? A cat rolling around in his cat litter. That’s like you splashing around in a toilet. I mean…honestly!

Hailey's Lady
7/16/2012 12:47:19 am

LMAO!

Easiest way to collect pet urine
1) let them pee on the floor and then use a syringe to gather it.
2) Pay the vet to remove it.

Hope the kitty is ok!

Reply



Leave a Reply.