You know what’s stupid? Heart worms.

You know what’s even stupider? How long it takes to get rid of them.

Bonnie was tested in Mexico and was found to be heart worm positive. That’s how this whole shebang happened really. I saw she needed a sponsor for her medication, so I pulled out the good old Visa and paid for her first round of medication. Funny how this stupid health problem that is driving me crazy is actually the culprit behind Bonnie being here in Canada, with me. I’ll give you that one Heart Worms- but that’s all you’re getting from me!

The last few days I’ve noticed Bonnie coughing. Typically, I wouldn’t worry too much about it. But let me tell you, when your dog has heart worms, you take every single cough, sneeze and sleepy afternoon seriously. Monday night we zipped down to the lovely people at the Bells Corners Animal Hospital to get things checked out. Let me just say, these people are basically angels in scrubs. They are SO patient with Bonnie (and me). They have spent close to 40 minutes trying to cut Bonnie’s nails. And when there’s white fur everywhere, crumbled up dog treats all over the floor, and me sitting on the floor desperately holding on my dog, they simply say “Well that was MUCH better than the last time. Good job Bonnie!”. I mean, holy crap! I know I take the victories as they come, but seeing someone else do it makes your heart melt.

The HW medication Bonnie was started on in Mexico is on back order. Which basically means there’s nothing the vets, Hopeful Hearts or I can do. Our hands and paws are tied. In my head, this is what heart worms look like. I imagine them attacking Bonnie on purpose, with the sole intent of bursting her poor sweet heart.

As much as I’d like these ridiculous little waste of space worms to be cartoon like and easy to smush, they’re not. In fact, they’re very real and are putting Bonnie in danger. Here’s what heart worms really look like. Here is my biggest fear of all. This is the picture I saw in the examination room at the vet. I thought I was going to puke. THAT what was going on in Bonnie?!? If I can’t get my hands on the right medication, I don’t know what I’m going to do. It’s not like I can perform open heart surgery on our kitchen island and take all those little buggers out. Heck, I can’t even try and get my hands on the medication because it’s on back order for everyone in the country! At this point, there’s nothing I’m able to do. And I HATE it.

After a consultation with the vet and the God sent people with Hopeful Hearts, we’ve decided on a new course of action.  Until Bonnie’s regular HW medication comes in, she’s going to go on the ‘slow kill’ meds. We’re also going to have an X-ray to see what’s going on inside my little Bonita. Until then, I suppose I’ll have to wait and see what the results are before I react.

But worms, consider this your official eviction notice. If I have it my way, you’re going to get out of my dog A.S.A.P.!

Hailey's Lady
10/3/2012 04:26:55 am

I am so sorry to hear that! How frustrating re the meds. I know you are in amazing hands with Bells Corners and be patient, they will find a solution for you.

Hugs!

Reply
10/4/2012 05:26:26 am

We've never had to deal with heartworms... thank goodness! Keeping our paws and fingers crossed that Bonnie gets rid of those pesky creatures real soon!

Reply



Leave a Reply.