Picture


Why- hello there! I'm Kimmy and as Chelsea's best friend I've been asked to write a guest blog post about Abbey. I am taking care of my brother’s gorgeous puppy Abbey for three weeks! This little cutie-pa-tootie is a 5 month old golden retriever, with beautifully dark red coat. She has giant paws (which means someone won't be staying so small), and big floppy ears that just make me melt. Quick heads up- my photos were taken with my iPhone, so the quality isn't the greatest But hey- the cute puppy in the picture makes up for it ;)

Abbey has recently learned how to play fetch, and now it’s her absolute FAVORITE game. There’s just one problem… she doesn’t understand that in order for me to throw the ball for her, she first has to drop it. So, the command “drop it” has been my little project for my brother’s return. I’m hoping that “drop it” will also be useful for, say, garbage on the street, or someone’s sock that they’re trying to put on (oh, didn't I mention- she’s obsessed with socks!).

Picture
I'm coming Auntie Kimmy!
Picture
I got it. I GOT IT!!!
Picture
Did you want this?
Another fun 'Abbey trait' is that when we play fetch, she insists on dropping it under the couch where she can't reach it.  I’m starting to think she does this on purpose for attention......

Picture
Hey Ball! Whatcha doing under the couch?
After a vigirous training schedule, which included lots of praise and oodles of treats, Abbey has mastered a new trick which we like to call 'Leave It'. She waits patiently for her food until you say “ok, Abbey”. She’ll wait for 10 minutes or more. Not too shabby for a 5 month old puppy.

Picture
The minute she says okay, you're mine food!
One of the great things about being a dog aunt is I get to spoil Abbey rotten......so naturally I took this girl to PetSmart and shopped till we dropped. She was pretty pumped about Halloween too, so we opted to go for some holiday themed toys.
Picture


It tough work, being this cute. After a long day running like crazy at the dog park, this dog is ready for her nap.
And with that, Abbey and I would like to say (*yawn*) Good Night!


Hailey and Zaphod's lady
9/20/2012 11:16:54 am

What a lucky puppy to have such a great aunt!

Reply



Leave a Reply.