Happy Friday Everyone!

Yes...I know it's not Friday (I'm not crazy). Clearly it's Wednesday. It's true! Your computer will back this up- scroll your mouse over to the time on the bottom right hand of your screen. It's okay- go ahead. You see? It says Wednesday!

I am leaving for Florida tomorrow morning, and because of this I am waltzing around my office with the joy and pride that only Fridays can bring. And so for me, on this beautiful warm day, it is Friday. And because I am in this lovely Friday mood, I thought I'd share some a funny story about the Bailster.

Disclaimer: There are a few moments in this story that I was unable to capture with film. Although when a thougth bubble pops in my head, I've been told that others do not see the tiny little clouds form to display my thought process. Thankfully I've had YEARS of experience re-capturing these moments with Microsoft Paint (thank you University!). And here I was sure I'd never get to use this hidden talent!
 
Our story begins yesterday (Tuesday. Or Thursday. Depends who you ask). We have been desperately trying to come up with a way to get Bailey to communicate to us when she needs to go to the bathroom. She doesn't bark, so the "bark like a crazy animal at the front door" approach won't work. We've got her on a schedule, BUT let's face it- no one really pees on a schedule.

It starts off like this.
It's important to act like going outside to pee is the absolutely most fun, most amazing thing you could ever do. After making the world's biggest deal about peeing on the grass, I usually get this response from Bailey.
And so I thought about using the bell training. Essentially you train your dog to hit the bell when they want to go outside. It's awesome for non barkers like Bails. Usually you hang a bell somewhere, which allows the dog to ring it I imaging her ringing it quite diplomatically. British almost. Something like this.
But the reality is a bell hanging from a string in the front hall would not last two seconds in our house. Rascal, the almighty cat protector would massacre that bell. It would never see it coming.
So I sat for a moment to contemplate my situation, and BAM. The solution was so simple! I would buy a bell that you have to hit- like the ones they put at hotels for you to ring when there's no one at the front desk. If the people in Staples could see my thought bubble, they would have been so impressed.
I ran home. Well not really. I didn't run. I walked.....OKAY. I bused. Anyhow, I burst through the door. I couldn't contain my excitement. I was dying to get on this bell training and teach Bailey how to communicate. I even deemed it "The Bathroom Bell" (creative- I know). I would ring the bell, then immediately give her a treat- I wanted to associate something good with the sound. I then placed it on the ground and put a bunch of treats around it like this (good news- I have real pictures for the next part).
And as I turn around to show Bailey how wonderful and magical the bell is with it's circle of treats, I find her hiding in the corner in the cat bed.
And to top it all off, when I go back over to the bell, this is what I found.....
Are you seeing what I'm seeing? Its a cat. EATING THE DOG TREATS. Let me show you one more time....
And where is Bailey in all this?
Well there you have it folks. I don't know what the future is like for the Bathroom Bell. I do know that my cat will eat anything. I have a dream that one day, my tiny little black pooch will walk on up and somehow tell me "Mom. I have to pee. Right Now". We've all got to have dreams. And this my friends, is mine.
2/22/2012 06:13:45 am

Omygosh Chelsea I think this is the best blog post I have ever read/looked at!!! hilarious!!!

Barley doesn't tell us he needs to go out either. luckily he has a miraculous talent at holding it. seriously. sometimes i'm like "oh crap, you must really have to pee!" and then I TELL him to go outside and he stands there peeing for like a minute. Silly goof.

One day, Bailey will figure out her own smart (and I'm sure dainty) was of telling you that she has to pee!!

Reply
3/1/2012 02:56:00 am

Ha, thanks Ali! I really wanted to tell the story, but didn't want to bore with a lack of pictures. Thank goodness I spent many hours in school doodling on my computer!

I'm hoping she gets better at either the holding in or communicating. At least this summer she'll be outside 90% of her time at the cottage :)

Reply
2/22/2012 07:21:08 am

I think the cat & dog have switched fur suits. That's the only way to explain this madness.

Reply
3/1/2012 02:56:33 am

It's craziness, I know!

Reply
Kimmy
2/23/2012 04:56:30 am

Get a normal pet, geez!

jk, life would be boring without your dog-cat and cat-dog!

Reply
2/23/2012 09:53:18 am

It's good to have dreams, BOL!

Nubbin wiggles,
Oskar

Reply
3/1/2012 02:57:05 am

LOL I love the BOL!

Reply
Hailey's Lady
2/25/2012 08:10:07 am

My cats never bothered with the bell when we had one. We got a wind chime from the dollar store. My cats would eat the treats too!

Reply
3/1/2012 02:57:51 am

I should have known going into it that he would eat the treats. He's a crazy one, that Rascal.

Reply
2/29/2012 09:39:29 am

So funny! I love the illustrations. Have fun in Florida, maybe you can get this switched around upon your return!

Reply
3/1/2012 02:58:47 am

Thanks for the compliment! Turns out the illustrations weren't as difficult as I thought. Perhaps now I can blog about more moments when I don't have digital pictures to back up my story!

Reply
3/6/2012 06:25:18 am

Hi, That is one crazy looking animal, but very cute!!!!
Nice to meet you!
xxoo
Deborah

Reply
3/6/2012 09:02:22 pm

Stopping by from Pet Blogs United! Nice to meet you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.