Picture
We have a new house guest! And no, it's not a lizard.

It's SOPHIE!!!!

For those who don't know, Sophie is my parents' dog. She's an Australian cattle dog who is 11 years young. This dog has surpassed MANY health obstacles, including cataracts, skin infections and diabetes. 

Living with a diabetic dog can make things a little more difficult. Not impossible- just a little more difficult. In Sophie's case, she needs to have insulin administered twice a day; once in the morning and once in the evening. All this really means is that instead of catching an early movie or an early bird dinner, you have to hang home a little longer so she can get her insulin.

She is AWESOME when it comes to giving her shot. I think she understands that getting the shot makes her feel better, because in most cases you just have to physically show her the needle, and she'll come waltzing over. Although, you have to be careful some times with how you say you're going to shoot her. We've gotten some pretty weird looks before. . . . can't say I blame people though. I'd be a little confused if I overheard someone saying "No, it's okay. I'll go home and shoot Sophie. It's my turn".
Picture
You'd think that the only downside of Sophie staying with us means rearranging our schedules to accommodate her insulin. But truth is, it's not that big of an adjustment. The only downside of housing the Spoofia for a few days is her chewbaca like howls. And of course, her intense love for barking at 5:00 in the morning, purely because one of the doors to the bathroom was closed. Heaven forbid!

I suppose having some early morning barking is worth it if it means that I get to spend some time with my Sophie Doo. Bailey LOVES having another dog here during the day (I'm pretending that having Sophie here is a warm up for Bailey and Boni, but really I just love having two dogs in the house)

Most fun part of her sleepover so far? When she worked up enough courage to jump on the bed. Okay. . . . . I picked her up. . . .you know- incredibly awkwardly. . . . but still! She made it up! Looked pretty pleased with herself :)
Hailey's lady
8/31/2012 11:02:08 am

So great that you are willing to take care of the insulin dependent dog. She is a fantastic looking dog!

Have fun in a 2 dog house!

Reply



Leave a Reply.