‘Double the trouble’. That’s what people said when we got a second dog. Naturally, I’d respond with “double the fun!”, which is still true. But double the trouble….seems that although I hate to admit it, there is some truth to that statement.

I work during the day, and so Bonnie is crated and Bailey has free range. It’s not to be mean, or to clearly play favorites. Bonnie is new in our house and tends to have some anxiety when we walk out the door. I learned this through the untimely death of our guestroom mattress. But hey-  you live and learn. We learned that Bonnie being free in the house is a no no.

Bailey on the other hand had begun being out of the crate about a month before we brought Bonnie home. She was doing awesome possum the entire time. Well, obviously not the entire time- otherwise this story will be pretty boring. For the last week she has decided that she would like to be the ‘bad dog’. This decision means that helpless bystanders like my leopard print high heels, Scott’s running shoes, throw pillows, remote controls and my ‘delicates’ have become victims. It’s easy to know when something is up, because her little face isn’t peering through the window as I pull into the drive way. So I’ll be driving home, all “Tra La La” and suddenly it dawns on me that her little face isn’t in the window. Then I’m praying to the powers that be that my new slippers will live to face another day.

Let me paint you a picture. It’s called ‘Yesterday’. Or Wednesday. I come home, open the front door to see a pukey stained crate containing Bonnie and the reminisce of her lunch. Then, I veer to the left and see Bailey crouching down in the corner, guilty as can be. Tuffs of pillow everywhere, random chewed objects blocking my path. And right in the middle of the carpet I see it. That box, all chewed up. The silver wrapping still intact on one side- with five pills remaining. I don’t know where she found it, but Bailey got her paws and chompers on a box of Reactine.

So what do you assess first? The heartworm positive dog puking for no reason, or the dog who may very well be hopped up on allergy medication. I call the vet, they squeeze me in a half hour before they close, and into the car we pile. Two hours later…..I don’t know what’s going on with Bonnie. Bailey had to be brought into the back and forced to vomit in an attempt to get anything pill like out of her stomach. After a mix of charcoal food to absorb any Reactine, we went home. Both dogs were insanely happy to get out of there, and oddly enough both Bailey and my wallet were lighter than when we got there.

In case you’re wondering, it’s $175 to have your dog puke and get the charcoal treatment.

Double the trouble, that’s for sure.  

10/25/2012 09:07:49 am

I am laughing with you not at you. As you know I live with destructo-dog and have my vet on speed dial. I feel your pain. Fortunately we have never had to have the dogs stomach pumped (although this one time, when our Loki was dying I dropped some of his meds which Gemi ate and I thought we were going to have to rush her in . . . )

I hope you find a solution to the problem and if you ever need after hours care, go to Ottawa Vet Hospital.

We have found the thundershirt really helps Hailey with her anxiety.

Reply



Leave a Reply.