I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately into what it means to be a foster, and all the emotions that go along with. Bonnie has been with us for nine days or so and it’s safe to say she is finally arriving at a point where we can seriously begin to look at forever families. It’s a bitter sweet moment. While I’m beyond thrilled that this girl has reached a point where is a happy and loving animal, it means my time with her is coming to an end.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t consider adopting her. I wanted to keep her the minute we brought her home. She and I bonded quickly- and for me it made the mere thought of sending her away unbearable. What if she thought we were abandoning her? What if she thought our home was hers too, and was the light at the end the tunnel? What if it broke her heart?

The reality is, we’ve given this girl exactly what she needed. A roof over her head, a warm bed to sleep in and to see what it felt like to have humans care for her. Yes, I want to keep her all to myself. But that is selfish, and I refuse to let the one selfless thing I’ve tried to do be tainted with the need to keep Bonnie. We brought her to Canada with the intention of helping her find her forever family, and I’m determined to do this.

Of course, I always add the disclaimer “If we don’t find the right family, then she stays with us”. But let’s be realistic- she’s an amazing dog. Her family is out there waiting. We just have to find them. Or- let them find her.

I have loved fostering, and hope that I will get to do it again someday. It’s been pretty cool- this whole experience. I didn’t realize how much I would have loved watching this dog become the dog she should have been from day one. All she needed was people to love her. Even if just for 9 days. It was all she needed.

Oh, did I mention she’s kid friendly? I know…just another awesome quality to add to her list. Her official bio has been sent into Hopeful Hearts & her official ‘pawtrait’ will be taken sometime in the near future. Basically, Bonnie is on her way to finding her home.

If you know of someone looking to add an AMAZING dog to their family, please mention Bonnie :)

9/17/2012 05:33:56 am

I'm going through this with Wyatt right now. And let me tell you -- it does not get any easier! If anything it gets harder - especially when you foster a dog that you would adopt in a heartbeat if you could.

Good luck, can't wait to see Bonnie on the site :)

Reply
Hailey and Zaphod's Lady
9/17/2012 09:57:08 am

I can't even imagine how hard this will be for you. I would be a complete foster failure. I hope you find the perfect home that maybe makes it a tiny bit easier.

Reply
10/4/2012 04:17:38 pm

Oh my God I was unaware of the facts you mentioned in your article. It is so helpful. I am highly thankful to you Sir.

Reply



Leave a Reply.