For the past few months, I've been following the progress of a dog named Boni.
You see, I tend to spend my lunch hour looking at rescue dogs online, which I'm told is fairly common among dog owners. I came across the Humane Society of Cozumel, an organization that works with Loyal Rescue in Ontario to help get dogs over to Canada.. From what I can gather, if you're not a puppy or a pure bred, your chances of being adopted in Cozumel are slim to none. These dogs are usually abandonned, with good samaritans bringing them into the humane society.
Boni has been at the shelter since April, 2012. I've been checking the site periodically, hoping to not see that sweet little face under the 'adoptables'. I know you can't know anything about a dog by a picture, but I have to say that I feel like I just might. Boni has the same look Bailey gets when she's nervous and scared. It was the same look that convinced me and my husband to bring her home that day. It's the face of a dog that is desperately looking for a chance, and I really think that we might be the people to give her that.
I contacted a rep for the humane society to discuss Boni. She was heart worm positive and needed a sponsor for her medication. At the time, sponsoring her medication was the most I could do. I'm in Ottawa, she's in Mexico. If I could drive over and pick her up, I would do it in a heart beat. Somewhere within all of this, I realized that I could bring her to Canada. I could bring her here, foster her, and help her find a family that will love her until the end of her days.
Right now, I am in the process of getting her onto a flight to Toronto for mid September, at which point we would take a quick wee road trip to pick her up. I'm also waiting to have a home visit done to be an official foster for Hopeful Hearts. In my spare time I volunteer with Hopeful Hearts by completing the home visits for foster and adoption applications. I have to say- it's a little weird being on the other end of things!
So that's where it stands. I'm in this limbo of waiting to get everything confirmed. But if all goes well, Boni will be joining us in Ottawa, Canada by mid September. Fingers crossed!

Hailey's lady
8/7/2012 09:34:52 pm

I admit I do the dog checking too! I have to limit it some days. Every story is so heart breaking. I would have a whole houseful of dogs if I could! (Fortunately I have a reasonable husband so I will not become a dog hoarder).

I think what you are doing is AWESOME! I hope it all works out!

Reply
8/10/2012 07:00:39 am

That is awesome! She is beautiful and is so lucky to have a person like you that wants to help her! Good luck...keeping our fingers and paws crossed that it all works out!

Reply



Leave a Reply.